H.R. 5212 gains a co-sponsor, Congresswoman Renee Ellmers

Pleased to see that Congresswoman Renee Ellmers has become a co-sponsor of Congressman Tim Walberg's bill, H.R. 5212, the Civil Asset Forfeiture Reform Act of 2014. To get out of committee, though, H.R. 5212 will require additional co-sponsors. Indeed, the bill will likely require co-sponsoring from at least 5 or 6 members of the House Judiciary Committee + the support of a majority of its members--which looks plausible, if the public engages the issue and pressures House Judiciary Committee members. By my count, at least 23 of the 39 House Judiciary Committee members have previously voted for significant forfeiture reform legislation and 20+ House Judiciary Committee members have signaled (in their rhetoric or voting record) that they are probably open to something like H.R. 5212.
Sen. Paul's FAIR (Fifth Amendment Integrity Restoration) Act still also needs a Congressperson to introduce a House version. It will also need support from the House Judiciary Committee.

You may contact your Congressperson in support of forfeiture reform through our popvox portal @ https://www.popvox.com/orgs/forfeiturereform, your Congressperson's website, or by calling 202-225-3121 to reach your Congressperson's office through the Capitol Hill switchboard operator.

Of particular importance are members of the House Judiciary Committee:
Rep. Bob Goodlatte (VA-06) [Chairman]
Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. (WI-05)
Rep. Howard Coble (NC-06)
Rep. Lamar Smith (TX-21)
Rep. Steve Chabot (OH-01)
Rep. Spencer Bachus (AL-06)
Rep. Darrell Issa (CA-49)
Rep. Randy Forbes (VA-04)
Rep. Steve King (IA-04)
Rep. Trent Franks (AZ-08)
Rep. Louie Gohmert (TX-01)
Rep. Jim Jordan (OH-04)
Rep. Ted Poe (TX-02)
Rep. Jason Chaffetz (UT-03)
Rep. Tom Marino (PA-10)
Rep. Trey Gowdy (SC-04)
Rep. Raul Labrador (ID-01)
Rep. Blake Farenthold (TX-27)
Rep. George Holding (NC-13)
Rep. Doug Collins (GA-09)
Rep. Ron DeSantis (FL-06)
Rep. Jason Smith (MO-8)
Rep. John Conyers, Jr. (MI-13) [Ranking Member]
Rep. Jerry Nadler (NY-10)
Rep. Bobby Scott (VA-03)
Rep. Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Rep. Steve Cohen (TN-09)
Rep. Hank Johnson (GA-04)
Rep. Judy Chu (CA-27)
Rep. Ted Deutch (FL-21)
Rep. Luis Gutiérrez (IL-04)
Rep. Karen Bass (CA-37)
Rep. Cedric Richmond (LA-02)
Rep. Suzan DelBene (WA-01)
Rep. Joe Garcia (FL26)
Rep. Hakeem Jeffries (NY-08)
Rep. David Cicilline (RI-01)
Rep. Pedro Pierluisi (PR-At large delegate)

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.